The Best Kind of Phone Call

Friday was Girls Night Out with Hanah and her roommate Steph! We met at LA Live in downtown for the classic combo of dinner and a movie. We watched Hangover Part II because it was set in Thailand and neither of them had seen part one. It was exactly like the first one but I still enjoyed it and had a few laughs.

Saturday I got the best phone call from an unknown number. And it was one that I’ve been anticipating for a few months. Gaby called me from Bangkok to let me know that she got ENGAGED!!! I screamed so loud that my mom came into my room to see if something was wrong. I am so incredibly happy for Tuan and Gaby! The girls already knew it was going to happen soon because he had flown to LA back in March to buy the ring with Beverly’s help. He also emailed us gushing about all the reasons why he wanted to marry her. Gaby thought he would wait to propose when they moved back to Cali so we could all be there but I think it’s much more fitting for it to happen in Bangkok since that’s where their relationship began. Can’t wait to celebrate with them State-side!


Cheers Miss Gabrielle! This isn’t the best picture of us but I thought the wine glasses fit this occasion

In the afternoon I had an appointment with John Q in Garden Grove. The last time I got my hair cut by him was in January so I was definitely due for one. And then I went to Costa Mesa for PbP’s monthly steering committee meeting at Marian’s new swanky pad. It’s the most luxurious place I’ve been to in OC. After the meeting we were all welcomed to stay for Marian’s housewarming party.

Marian is a major foodie so naturally she had the best tacos in OC cater her party, Soho Tacos

Shrimp, asada, carnitas, chicken and roasted veggie tacos

And her friend brought cupcakes from one of the best bakery in OC called Beverly’s Best

All the pictures from Marian’s housewarming party are from Miss Jenny (pictures above)

Pictures of my PbP family plus KevinEats



Sunday I went to church, stuffed myself at Versailles for the Fellowship Team appreciation lunch and then headed to Ktown for a very productive meeting with the PbP Directors. We even had our National President, Liliana, at the meeting! She’s in town for a business trip. After the meeting we stuffed ourselves at ChoSun Galbee.

Plate by Plate is only two months away! Ek! It’s crunch time! I will be extremely busy, tired, and stressed the next two months but on Saturday, August 6th all my hard work will pay off.

Now, I’m home with a full stomach and full heart. Awww so CHEESY! Yet true.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. hanah

     /  June 6, 2011

    OMG when I heard the next day I was SO HAPPY, too! We were JUST talking about them coming back over dinner, too! I love being happy for friends!! 😀 That email of why he wants to marry her is so sweet! aw Tuan Vo!

    Reply
  2. wow that food looks amazing!!! I miss Cali food!! *DROOL!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

